Connecticut Dog Bite and Leash Laws
Though local governments often choose to create their own leash ordinances there are certain laws and regulations that apply to all of Connecticut. In our state, a 14-day quarantine is required when a dog bites or mauls a person. In addition, it is up the discretion of the local animal control agent or the Department of Agriculture to decide if the dog must be restrained or killed. Please read on to learn more about Connecticut state law as it applies to dogs and their owners.
- Leash Law- The state of Connecticut does not require that dog owners have their dogs leashed at all times. However, the owner should prevent their dog from entering another person’s land, a public highway or sidewalk. In addition, dogs must be leashed in all state parks.
- Vicious Dogs- The owner of a dog who has been observed acting in an aggressive or vicious manner must keep the dog contained at all times. If he allows the dog to roam free and the dog physically injures a person the owner is subject to a fine of up to $1000, imprisonment for up to six months, or both. Animal control officers are responsible for enforcing all roaming and vicious dog laws.
- Quarantine- A dog that bites a person off of its owner’s property must be quarantined for 14 days at the local pound, veterinary hospital or any property that has been approved by the Department of Agriculture’s commissioner. A quarantine is used to ensure that the dog or other biting pet does not have rabies and to examine the animals behavior and demeanor. Fees associated with quarantine are the responsibility of the owner.
- Liability- In Connecticut a dogs’ owner or keeper is strictly liable for any damage caused by his dog to a person’s body or property. The only exception is when the injured person was trespassing, teasing, abusing or tormenting the dog.
- Reporting and Killing- It is the responsibility of the victim of a dog attack or bite to report the incident to state, town or regional animal control officer. Anyone who is bitten by a dog or who shows visible evidence of being attacked may kill the dog during the attack if it happens off the animal owners premises. The law also prohibits anyone from owning or harboring a dog which is a nuisance due to a vicious disposition, excessive barking or any other disturbance.
The dog bite and personal injury attorneys at Glass, Lebovitz, Kasheta & Bren want to arm you with the information you need as it relates to dog and pet attacks. Though we have covered some basic information on the laws that apply to the entire state be sure to check your local ordinances and laws. If you have been bitten by a dog you need answers and you need them now. Contact your experienced Connecticut dog bite and attack attorney today for your absolutely free consultation.